ABI/INFORM contains business related articles, industry reports (First Research with call prep questions and BMI/Fitch for international coverage), and wires. You can opt to search just ABI/INFORM or add other ProQuest databases to search at the same time. Other databases by ProQuest include, but are not limited to: Historical Annual Reports – 42,000 annual reports from more than 800 leading North American companies. Dissertations & Theses – Citations and PDFs of select dissertations from universities around the world.
When to use:
Use when you need current or historical full-text articles and industry reports from a variety of sources or when you need historical annual reports.
Accessible on-campus from terminals only. Bloomberg is one of the world’s premier financial databases and provides data on equities, indices, commodities, currencies, and more. Information on M&A deals, IPOs, and league tables are available in pre-build and customized screens. Excel API and Launchpad allow you to analyze data and customize views. BMC, BPS, and BHL have videos and documents for learning more. BBG will get you access to Bloomberg.com.
When to use:
Use to find nearly any type of financial data, including quotes and technical analysis of U.S. and international securities. Bloomberg provides access to leagues tables for underwriters of equities, fixed income, and mergers & acquisitions.
Business Source Complete includes scholarly journals, business periodicals, trade journals, industry reports, and related information. It covers such topics as management, economics, finance, accounting, international business, and much more. It also provide access to industry, market, and company research which often contain SWOT (Strengths Weaknesses Opportunities and Threats) analysis of larger companies.
When to use:
Use when you want to find business-oriented articles. Business Source Complete is the only campus resource that provides full-text access to Harvard Business Review (HBR) and McKinsey Quarterly.
If asked for your username, enter your Cornell email address.
S&P’s Capital IQ is a premier financial database providing easy-to-use tools for financial statements, deals, and sector analysis, providing data on public and private companies, investment firms, capital transactions, and people. It includes financials for over 88,000 public companies and 825,000 private companies. The platform provides sophisticated retrieval and personalization tools to create numerous reports and has an Excel Plug-in modeling tool.
When to use:
Use the powerful screening and charting features to create a list of firms for your job search and/or target investments. Pull financials on firms, deals, and markets.
Data Axle (formerly Reference USA) contains 60 million US business listings, 2 million Canadian businesses, and consumer profiles. Great for locating competitors, suppliers, and assessing market potential.
When to use:
Use when researching small businesses and consumer groups in the United States.
Factiva is a database that provides powerful tools for searching and monitoring daily newspapers, magazines, journals, newswires, and trade publications including the Wall Street Journal (WSJ). With its News Pages feature, Factiva allows you to browse the current day’s front-page headlines from major U.S. newspapers and magazines.
When to use:
Use Factiva when you need full-text access to thousands of publications, including global news and business information.
Gale Business Insights brings together a wide variety of business information, including company profiles, SWOT analysis, company brand and market share, rankings, company histories, chronologies, and articles.
When to use:
Use to find company histories, brand share, and market share data. Use keywords to search through three different categories: companies, industries, and articles.
Mergent Archives allows you to access a vast collection of historical corporate and industry related documents. Coverage goes back to 1909. It includes PDFs of annual reports, the Moody’s manuals (later renamed Mergent): Bank & Finance, Industrial, International, OTC Industrial, Public Utility, Transportation, OTC Unlisted, and D&B Million Dollar Directories.
When to use:
Use when performing historical research on a company.
Mergent Intellect is a directory of worldwide business information (using D&B’s Hoover’s data) that enables you to access private and public U.S and international business data, executive contact information, industry research, and the ability to access industry profiles. Use the First Research industry profiles to find “call prep” questions, which are a great starting point for you to develop your own questions during interviews.
When to use:
Use Mergent Intellect when you are looking for creating lists of companies by size, industry, location, and other criteria.
MSCI ESG Direct measures the social, environmental, and governance performance of nearly 5,000 corporations.
When to use:
Use MSCI ESG Direct to analyze a company’s significant social and environmental impacts. Create lists of companies fitting criteria such as involvement with production of controversial weapons. Download company and industry research reports covering issues such as corruption, emissions, and governance.
LSEG Workspace contains public and private company information for both U.S. and international firms, investment reports, breaking news and economic statistics. It covers a broad range of financial market trends, and includes deals data, private equity/venture capital coverage, and environmental performance information (ESG). After Market Research reports are from well-known investment analyst firms. Refinitiv Workspace provides access to the broadest and deepest coverage of financial data, news, analytics and productivity tools.
When to use:
Use Workspace when you are looking for deals, financials, or analyst reports.
Researchers who want to use Datastream, SDC, or equity analyst reports (AMR) should contact mgtref@cornell.edu for access. Account inactivity may result in add-ons being removed.